About Us


You will find the Church just up from the Man on the Bike Shopping Centre in Trees Road, Tallebudgera, on Australia’s Gold Coast. Built in September 1888, it still stands today on the original stumps.

Tallebudgera Uniting Church is a landmark in the area and a small but vibrant and faithful congregation worship together and serve the local community today.

By the early 1870s, the Tallebudgera area was permanently settled. The population mainly consisted of timber getters and small crop farmers with dairy farming becoming important in the area from the 1890s.  Tallebudgera’s location along the main stock route between Queensland and New South Wales, which became the early coach road between Nerang and the border, led to it becoming a convenient stop and changeover point for Cobb and Co. Coaches.

To serve the coach road traffic, and the wider farming community, a small village began to develop near the intersection of the Old Coach Road and Trees Road.

During the 1870′s a number of businesses and services began to appear including a house for travellers, the Rose and Crown Hotel, a general store, blacksmith, wheelwright, stables and school. Expansion continued in the 1880s with the establishment of a police station, a Presbyterian church, Catholic church and further construction and trade. Tallebudgera, despite seeing massive change over the last 125 years, still connects the north – along Old Coach Rd and south – across Tomewin – and the Man on the Bike shopping precinct remains the central hub of the community.